Reflections of a Seeker

I am reading “Eat, Pray, Love” (no, I haven’t seen the movie) and here are my thoughts about it so far…

I love it.  Despite the thrashings of critics, despite the fact that the writing is at times self-indulgent and maybe a bit too smug, I love it.  Why?  Because it speaks to a deep universal truth that lives within the heart of every human being — we are all seekers.  At 43 years old, I am a writer still seeking to define her voice.  Not an easy thing to do because my ideas of what and how I want to write keep changing.  I’m a mom seeking to understand the irrational and unpredictable moods of teenagers.  Also not an easy task.  In living with three teenagers, I’ve discovered that even the most innocent of comments has the potential to ignite an emotional outburst.  I’ve also discovered that sometime around my son’s 13th birthday, I unknowingly transformed from “cool Mom” to “OMG, Mom — please don’t talk to me or even look at me while my friends are around!”  I’m still adjusting to that one. 

I’m a pilgrim reaching out to the Universe and praying for faith and understanding of my own spirituality.  “Eat, Pray, Love” reminds me of my own stumbling journey toward greater communion with God and my purpose in life.  I’ve even been inspired me to think about starting yoga and learning how to meditate so that I can achieve greater balance in my life.  Of course, with my schedule, I might have to wake up at 5am to meditate.  I’m still not sure about that one.  And even though Elizabeth Gilbert’s descriptions of culinary ecstasy in Italy made me just the teeniest bit jealous, I am inspired by the idea that such possibilities could exist in my own life.  For me, it is another affirmation that life does give second chances…and sometimes, if you sit quietly and listen with your whole being open to the Universe, you will hear the sound of your prayers being answered.  Unfortunately, just about the time I’m sitting quietly, with my whole being open to the Universe, the only sound I hear is my 7-year old’s voice from the bathroom, shouting “MOM!  Can you come here?”

About Terri Hadley Ward

I am a 40-something mom, wife, writer, and spiritual seeker. My life is about following my passions -- my family, writing, gardening, and celebrating the connections that define the human experience.
This entry was posted in Books, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

